Thursday, June 23, 2011

Someone get this girl a drink....a stiff one

Hello from the Figure 50!

The guys are busy right now making hay while the sun is shining....or even when the sun isn't shining. They have a little bit left to bale I believe and then should be done with the first cutting.  Still having to haul water to the cows. We have had some hot days this week and when the weather is warm the ladies love a drink...and a stiff one of pure H20 at that!!!

I am sitting at my desk watching Baxter lick the wall. I have asked him several times not to lick the wall but it must taste like chicken jerky or something because he is not listening. Note to self: wash the walls in the office or better yet figure out some sort of contraption to attach to Baxter's tongue and let him lick away. Strange dog he is. He might be strange but he is intelligent. Branden and I went to the boat races last weekend and Baxter escaped from being locked in the kennel. 3 dogs in the kennel, Baxter on the outside. It rained all day so it was a muddy mess out. We got home and it was late so straight to bed we go. The next morning I get up and walk to the family room to find the screen that when we left was covering the open window on the floor. I walk around the couch and see muddy paw prints all over the arm of the couch and a perfect Baxter size mud print on the blanket I use on the couch. He had pushed the screen out of the window and had jumped through the window onto the couch. From the evidence he left it appeared that he had entered and exited several times making himself right at home on the couch when there wasn't something more exciting going on outside. Luckily for me and even more lucky for Baxter I have not found any animals that do not belong in the house inside yet.

I have a big deadline at work coming up on June 30th and am hoping to be able to catch my breath once that is over.

I better get my wall licker to bed before I don't have any paint left! Happy trails to you until we meet again!

Sunday, June 12, 2011

Yay for a whole day at home!!

It's Sunday, and although I love Sundays there is something bittersweet about them. The next day is Monday and Mondays and I aren't really on speaking terms these days. It just so happens that this Sunday I spent all day at home and got some stuff done.

At 8:55pm I got in from planting my garden. Yes folks I got it done without having any tomatoes harvested in my kitchen!! This year we have heirloom tomatoes. grape tomatoes, cucumbers, sugar baby watermelons, and multi-color peppers. At least that is what I planted and we will pray that we get to harvest all of that. I am hoping that we have a real good crop since last year I summer fallowed my garden :)

We had steaks for dinner. We haven't had steak in a long time and man was it good. Nothing like eating a big ol' chunk of meat! I also baked a blueberry kuchen today. First attempt and it just so happens that I am enjoying a piece of it right now. Branden is always saying how he likes it so I gave it a whirl.

Branden checked water today and mowed the lawn. The ladies are in a pasture right now that does not have a well so the guys have to haul all the water to them. When it is really hot they go through a lot of water. He didn't take the tanker out to the field so they must not have been that thirsty today. After Branden mowed the lawn I started some sprinklers for the first time this year!!! So goes the rest of my summer, moving water.

We went to the world famous Lind Combine Derby yesterday. If you have never been my friends you need to get there immediately....ok maybe next year since that is when it happens again. If you want some good old fashion fun you need to be there. You will find me there next year same place I always am. We hung out with good friends and had a blast. I had a little too much fun on Friday night so I wasn't as much fun on Saturday, better planning next year. But wait I think I said that last year. Anyways I better see all of you there next year.

I am going to sign off for the night my monsters are at the door and would like to come in for the night. Have a good one!!!